2021 Afcon qualifiers: Choupo Moting left out of 25 man squad

By Beng Emmanuel

Cameroon’s captain and Bayern Munich forward Eric Maxime Choupo-Moting has been left out of the 25-man squad to face Cape Verde and Rwanda on match day five (5) and six (6) of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers this March. 

Cameroon’s Indomitable Lions head coach Antonio Conceicao had previously pre-selected 37 players to camp ahead of their final 2021 Afcon qualifying games against group F rivals Cape Verde and Rwanda on March 22 and 30 respectively.   

Former Paris Saint-Germain forward Eric Maxime Choupo-Moting is absent from the list alongside 2017 Afcon winner Christian Bassogog who recently signed a new contract in China. Fai Collins of Standard Liege in Belgium is also present in the list of absentees including Andre Onana, Oyongo Bitolo, Njie Clinton, Kunde Malong. 

Three home based players made the cut in return. PWD of Bamenda goalkeeper Haschou Kerrido, Martin Ako Assomo of AS Fortuna and Under-20 Lions captain Meyapya Fongain-who led the Central African nation to the quarter-final of the Under-20 African Cup of Nations in Mauritania. 

Cameroon currently lead group F with 10 points after four playing days. The Lions drew goalless with Cape Verde during the first leg on match day one in Yaounde and narrowly edged Rwanda in Kigali on match day two. 

The five time African Champion face Cape Verde away on March 26 before they wrap-up with Rwanda on March 30 in Douala.  Host Cameroon is already qualified for the continental football competition. 

The 2021 African Cup of Nations will take place in Cameroon from January-February 2022. The tournament was initially scheduled to take place this year but it was moved to January 2022 by the Confederation of African Football due to Covid-19. 

The 25-players retained for this month’s afcon qualifiers will begin training this Monday. 

Group F Standings 

1. Cameroon-10pts 

2. Mozambique-4pts 

3. Cape Verde-4pts

4. Rwanda-2pts

Complete list of those selected 


1. Ondoa Fabrice (NK Istra 1961-Crotia)

2. Omossola Simon (AS Vita club-DR Congo)

3. Efala Konguep Jean (Akwa United.F-Nigeria)

4. Haschou Kerrido(PWD Bamenda-Cameroon)


5. Serge Leuko(Waasl Beveren-Belgium)

6. Onguene Jerome(Genoa CFC-Italy)

7. Bagnack Macky(Partizan Belgrade-Serbia)

8. Moukoudi Harold(St Etienne-France)

9. Mbaizo Olivier(Union Philadelphia-USA)

10. Castelletto JC(Nantes-France) 

11. Ngah Fabrice(Ceramica Cleopatra FC –Egypt)

12. Meyapya Fongain(Fauve Azur-Cameroon)

13. Ngwem Jonathan(Ceremica-Egypt)


14. Zambo Anguissa(Fulham-England) 

15. Djoum Arnauld(Al Raed-Saudi Arabia)

16. Hongla Martin(Royal Antwerp-Belgium)

17. Oum Gouet Samuel(Altach-Australia) 

18. Onana Jean(Royal Excel-Mouscron-Belgium)

19. Ivan Neyou(AS St.Etienne-France)


20. Toko Ekambi(Lyon-France)

21. Bahoken Stephane(Angers-France)

22. Aboubakar Vincent (Besiktas-Turkey)

23. Ngamaleu Moumi(Young Boys-Switzerland)

24. Tabekou Serge(Royal Excel Mouscron-Belgium)

25. Martin Assomo(AS Fortuna-Cameroon)


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *