39 Nigerian opposition parties form coalition to defeat Buhari

A major political realignment in Nigeria took place on Monday as 38 opposition political parties and the Reformed All Progressive Congress (R-APC) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to contest the 2019 general elections under one platform.

They agreed to work together under the name “Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP)” to unseat President Muhammadu Buhari.

The signing of the MoU which held after a meeting at the Yar’Adua Centre in Abuja came less than one week after some members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Buhari’s party, announced the formation of R-APC.

The splinter group, headed by Buba Galadima, a former ally of the president, is believed to have the backing of the nPDP bloc within the APC.

The nPDP comprises of members of the then ruling PDP who defected to the APC before the 2015 polls. Its members include Senate President Bukola Saraki and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

Mr Buhari has come in for criticism for his handling of Nigeria’s economy, the largest in Africa.

His administration has pointed to the fight against corruption and the military operations against Islamist militant group Boko Haram as some of his achievements.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *