AU summit begins with 3 new faces as African leaders

Leaders of African countries are already in Addis Ababa for the 30th AU summit for Heads of State and Government.

The 30th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the AU is taking place under the motto “winning the fight against corruption: a sustainable path to Africa’s transformation”.

Worthy to note is there will be new faces attending this summit as president for the first time.

President João Lourenço, is attending for the first time as the president of Angola. He arrived Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on Saturday to participate in this summit. The Head of State will be one of the speakers at the opening ceremony. He is taking over from his predecessor, Jose Eduardo Dos Santos.

President, Emmerson Mnangagwa, is in Addis Ababa as well, for the first time as the president of Zimbabwe, he arrived on Saturday. He left from Davos, Switzerland where he was attending the world economic forum directly to Ethiopia; he is going to be taking over from his predecessor, Robert Mugabe.

And lastly, President George Weah is currently in the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, to participate in the 30th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union. Weah left the country on Saturday along with officials of government, including the newly confirmed Finance Minister Samuel Tweah. Weah’s appearance at the meeting will be his first official participation at a regional meeting of heads of state and government as president of Liberia.

The Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the AU will officially open on 28 January and close on 29 January 2018, in the presence of the AU leadership, officials of the AU Commission and Organs; the representatives from partner Organisations, the Diplomatic Corps and invited guests.

The opening ceremony will feature among others, speeches and keynote address by H.E. Mr. Alpha Conde, President of the Republic of Guinea and outgoing Chairperson of the African Union; Statement by H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the AU Commission; Statement by H.E. Antonio Manuel de Oliveira Guterres, Secretary General of the United Nations ; Statement by H.E. Mr. Mahmoud Abbas, President of the State of Palestine and Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) ; Statement by H.E. Ahmed Aboul-Gheit, Secretary General of the League of Arab States.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *