Cameroon coach Toni Conceicao names 28-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

By Beng Emmanuel

Indomitable Lions head coach Antonio Conceicao has named a 28-man squad as Cameroon prepares to face Malawi and Ivory Coast in their first two encounters of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in September.

Coton Sport goalkeeper Narcisse Nlend Junior is the lone home based player in the squad predominantly dominated by foreign based players. His former team mate Lambert Gueme Araina who recently moved to Morocco will aim to make his debut for the national team after receiving a maiden call-up.

Regulars like Skipper Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Vincent Aboubakar, Zambo Anguissa, Ngadeu Michael, Toko Ekambi and Kunde Malong have been included in the list by the Portuguese tactician.

Cameroon will face Malawi in their first outing of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifier at the Olembe Sport Complex on September 3, 2021 before taking on familiar foes Ivory Coast three days later in Abidjan.

They are drawn in group D of the qualifying round where Mozambique also features.

Cameroon is hoping to feature at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar after failing to qualify for the 2018 finals in Russia.

The Indomitable Lions have participated at the World Cup a record seven (7) times with the most remarkable of them in 1990 when they became the first African nation to reach the quarter-final of the quadrennial football competition.

Next month’s FIFA World Cup qualifiers will serve as preparation for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations which Cameroon will host next year.


1. Cameroon

2. Ivory Coast

3. Malawi

4. Mozambique


Goalkeepers: Omosssola Simon, Epassy Devis, Efala Komguep Jean, Nlend Narcisse Junior.

Defenders: Fai Collins, Mbaizo Olivier, Ngadeu Michael, Castelletto Jean Claude, Moukoudi Harold, Billong Jean-Claude, Dawa Joyskim, Tchamba Duplexe

Midfielders: Djoum Arnaud, Kunde Malong, Zambo Anguissa, Oum Gouet Samuel, Hongla Martin, Lea Siliki James, Neyou Yvan

Forwards: John Mary, Ganago Ignatius, Bassogog Christian, Choupo-Moting, Bahoken Stephane, Toko Ekambi Karl, Ngamaleu Moumi, Lambert Gueme Araina, Aboubakar Vincent


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *