Conceição’s 37-man squad ahead of 2021 Afcon qualifiers against Cape Verde and Rwanda

  • The indomitable Lions of Cameroon will face group F rivals Cape Verde and Rwanda this month in their fifth and sixth round of group matches in the 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifiers.

By Beng Emmanuel 

Indomitable Lions head coach Antonio Conceicao has pre-selected 37 players to camp ahead of their final 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifying games against Cape Verde and Rwanda on March 22nd and 30th  respectively.   

The list is dominated by foreign based players while three home based professionals have been retained by the Portuguese tactician; PWD of Bamenda’s goalkeeper Haschou Kerrido, Fauve Azur’s skipper Meyapa Fongain and AS Fortuna’s forward Martin Ako Assomo- who starred during the 2020 African Nations championship, CHAN. Nigeria based shot-stopper Jean Effala Konguep,  Ngah Fabrice of Cleopatra FC in Egypt, and Simon Omossola of AS Vita in DR Congo complete the list of players called-up from the continent. 

However, Cameroon’s first choice keeper Andre Onana is absent from the team after been handed a 12-month ban alongside Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo who’s ruled out for injury. Some players are making their comeback while regulars like Eric Maxime Choupo-Moting, Njie Clinton, Christian Bassogog, Fabrice Ondoa, Kunde Malong and Zambo Anguissa made the cut. 

Cameroon currently lead group F with 10 points after four playing days. The Lions drew goalless with Cape Verde during the first leg on match day one in Yaounde and narrowly edged Rwanda in Kigali on match day two. 

The five time African Champion face Cape Verde away on March 22nd before they face Rwanda on March 30th in Cameroon. 

The 2021 African Cup of Nations will take place in Cameroon from January-February 2022. The tournament was initially scheduled to take place this year but it was moved to January 2022 by Confederation of African Football due to Covid-19. 

Group F Standings 

1. Cameroon-10pts 

2. Mozambique-4pts 

3. Cape Verde-4pts

4. Rwanda-2pts

Coach Antonio Conceicao’s list is comprised of five goalkeepers, eleven defenders, ten midfielders and eleven forwards. Here’s the complete list. 


Ondoa Fabrice (NK INSTRA 1961 – Croatia)

Omossola Simon (AS Vita – Congo)

Efala Komguep Jean – (Akwa Unit, F. – Nigeria)

Blondy Noukeu (Stoke City – England)

Hashou Kerido (PWD Bamenda – Cameroon)


Fai Collins (Standard Liege – Belgium)

Jerome Onguene (Genoa CFC -Italy)

Ngadeu Micheal (K.A.A Gent – Belgium)

Bagnack Mack (Partizan Belgrade – Serbia)

Harold Moukoudi (St Etienne – France)

Mbaizo Olivier (Union Philadelphia – USA)

Jean Castellotto (Nantes – France)

Meyapa Fongain (Fauve Azur – Cameroon)

Ngah Fabrice (Ceramica Cleopatra – Egypt)

Nouhou Tolo (Seattle – USA)

Serge Leuko (Waasland Beveren – Belgium)


Kunde Malone (Mainz – Germany)

Zambo Anguissa (Fulham – England)

Arnaud Djoum (Al-Read – Saudi Arabia)

Onana Jean (Royal Excel Mouscron – Belgium)

Eteki Brice Yan (Granada FC – Spain)

Hongla Martin (Antwerp – Belgium)

Samuel Oum Gouet (Altach FC – Austria)

Lea Siliki (Rennes – France)

Bambock Franck (Maritimo – Portugal)

Ivan Neyou (AS St Etienne France)


Karl Toko Ekambi (Lyon – France)

Martin Ako Assomo (AS Fortuna – Cameroon)

Bassogog Christian (Shanghai Shenshua – China)

Choupo-Moting (Bayern Munich – Germany)

Aboubakar Vincent (Besiktas – Turkey)

John Mary (Avispa Fukouka – Japan)

Ngamaleu Moumi (Young Boys – Switzerland)

Stephane Bahoken (Angers – France)

Tabekou Serge (Royal Excel Mouscron – Belgium)

Njie Clinton (Dynamo Moscow – Russia)

Ignatius Ganago (Lens – France)


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *