Ellen Johnson leaves the presidency with Africa’s most prestigious leadership award

Former Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, a Nobel Peace Prize laureate and Africa’s first elected female head of state, has won a $5 million Mo Ibrahim award, designed to improve the quality of African political leadership.

The Prize Committee praised her for leading Liberia as it recovered from civil war and “working tirelessly on behalf of the people of Liberia.”

She was also praised for her efforts in reconciliation and nation building.
The committee works independently to select the winner.

For 2 years there was no winner for the prize, same thing happened in the years 2009,2010, 2012 and 2013.

The $5m (£3.2m) prize is supposed to be awarded each year to a democratically elected leader who governed well, raised living standards and then voluntarily left office.
The $5m prize is spread over 10 years and is followed by $200,000 a year for life.

Below are previous winners of the leadership award in the past years…

  • 2007: Mozambique’s former President Joaquim Chissano
  • 2008: Botswana’s former President Festus Mogae
  • 2009: No winner
  • 2010: No winner
  • 2011: Cape Verde’s former President Pedro Verona Pires
  • 2012: No winner
  • 2013: No winner
  • 2014: Namibia’s former President Hifikipunye Pohamba
  • 2015: No winner
  • 2016: No winner

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *