Host Cameroon name squad for 2021 Nations Cup finals.

By Beng Emmanuel

Antonio Conceicao has named Cameroon’s 28-man squad for the delayed 2021 Africa Cup of Nations which begins on January 9, 2022.

The list of players retained by the Portuguese tactician who is keen on guiding the Indomitable Lions to their sixth continental crown on home soil, includes players who were part of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt and also Ebosse Enzo, the lone new comer.

Njie Clinton who has missed out from national duties for over a year has been included in the list alongside Oyongo Bitolo who made his return last month after lengthy injury. He is joined by French based footballers; Harold Moukoudi, Jean Onana, Stephane Bahoken, Yvan Neyou, Ignatius Ganago, Jean Castelleto and Karl Toko Ekambi.

Bayern Munich star forward Choupo-Moting made the cut with his captain Vincent Aboubakar and Zambo Anguissa who are on top form for their clubs. 2017 Afcon MVP Christian Bassogog and Andre Onana who suffered a year long doping ban also feature on the list.

However, Leandre Tawamba who has scored 11 goals for Al Tawooun in Saudi Arabia and was named in the provisional squad has been omitted.

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations begins next month. Cameroon face Burkina Faso in the tournament opening game at the Olembe Sport Complex. Ethiopia and Cape Verde complete group A.

Cameroon Squad

Goalkeepers: Simon Omossola, Devis Epassy, Andre Onana, Efala Konguep.

Defenders: Fai Collins,Olivier Mbaizo, Michael Ngadeu, Jean Charles Castellato, Harold Mokoudi, Ebosse Enzo, Oyongo Bitolo, Jerome Onguene, Nouhou Tolo

Midfielders: Onana Jean Junior, Kunde Malong, Zambo Anguissa, Oum Gwet, Hongla Martin, Lea Siliki Neyou Yvan

Forwards: Ganago Ignatius, Bassogog Christian, Choupo Moting, Bahoken Stephane, Toko Ekambi, Ngamaleu Moumi, Aboubakar Vincent, Clinton Njie


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *