Russia World Cup Draw 2018: Africa’s Fixtures

The five African teams representing the continent in the 2018 summer World Cup tournament in Russia belong to groups; A, B, D, G and H, seen by a draw made in Moscow on Friday, per the tournament’s official website.

Egypt is drawn against Russia the hosting country, Saudi Arabia and Uruguay in group A. Morocco follows in group B against Portugal, Spain and Iran. Group D has the West African Nation Nigeria, Argentina, Croatia and Iceland. Tunisia comes up with Belgium, Panama and England. And then Senegal with Poland, Colombia and Japan.

The 2018 summer games is dominated by teams from North Africa and West Africa representing the African continent.

32 teams made it to the tournament in Russia and they all learned their fate on Friday afternoon in Moscow. The draw took over an hour to complete, but they eventually got there.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be the 21st FIFA World Cup, a quadrennial international football tournament contested by the men’s national teams of the member associations of FIFA. It is scheduled to take place in Russia from Thursday 14 June to Sunday 15 July 2018, after the country was awarded the hosting rights on 2 December 2010.

This will be the first World Cup held in Europe since 2006; all but one of the stadium venues are in European Russia, west of the Ural Mountains to keep travel time manageable.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *