Six Candidates confirmed for FECAFOOT Presidency

Six Candidates confirmed for FECAFOOT Presidency

·       Former Inter Milan and FC Barcelona star Samuel Eto’o, and incumbent Seidou Mbombo Njoya join four other candidates to run for next month’s elections.

By Beng Emmanuel

Six candidates will contest for the Presidency of the Cameroon Football federation after their files were officially validated following a scrupulous review  by the Electoral Commission.

Africa’s football legend Samuel Eto’o Fils is among the candidates retained to run for December’s elections. The two-time Africa Cup of Nations winner who took the decision to become president “out of love for Cameroon and passion for our football” will challenge incumbent Seidou Mbombo Njoya for the top job.

Jules Denis Onana-who featured for Cameroon in their historic 1990 World Cup campaign-also makes the cut. The list of candidates is completed by renowned business man Jules Tagouh, Nyamsi Jean and Wandja Zacharie. Two potential candidates including that of Emmanuel Maboang Kessack were rejected by the Electoral Commission.

The names of candidates to run for the presidency of the Cameroon Football Federation are contained in a 9 page document signed by the President of the Electoral Commission Gilbert Shlick.

The validation of the list of candidates by the Electoral Commision is the last bend towards the election of a new president and Executive Committee members of FECAFOOT. The Elections will take place on the 11th of December and is expected to end the longstanding leadership tussle existing at the Cameroon regulatory football body for more than a decade.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *